Kansas short term disability insurance plans have various features, and policy definitions.
Many growing families in Kansas live check to check. There is the mortgage for the new house, payments for a bigger car, along with credit card bills for baby furniture, clothing, extra food and more.
Why take chances? Learn how short term disability insurance works in Kansas. Don’t assume that the state offers a program, or automatically enrolls workers.
- Important forms and policy Definitions
- Maternity leave and pregnancy bed rest
- Related Kansas laws and regulations
Short Term Disability Forms
In Kansas, and most other states there are three critical short term disability forms that may need to be completed. The account forms sometimes prove the most difficult to complete, but is often the most important. The state does not offer a program, so you cannot apply for benefits without a policy in place first.
Get a full loan of up to $2500 whether you have bad credit or no credit. Click Here
Make certain you have a secondary source of income to repay the loan. Join an elite group of moms that have discovered new found freedom and wealth with an honest, ethical home business. Click Here
Filing a Claim
File a claims form when applying for short term disability benefits. You can only file a claim form after your period of disability has begun. Your doctor and employer must both sign the form.
Purchasing a Policy
Account forms need to be completed by employers wishing to offer short term disability to employees. Many policies are designed to be employee paid, so it is an easy way to provide the option. This form must be in place with an employer in order for anyone to purchase policies covering normal childbirth. Only policies covering normal childbirth cover maternity leave.
A policy application must be completed in order to purchase a policy. A licensed agent will record answers to medical questions, and submit your policy application to the issuing company for underwriting review.
KS Short Term Disability Definitions
KS does not offer state benefits. Private short term disability plans in Kansas can be purchased in two ways: directly and through employer groups. Policies purchased directly have tougher medical underwriting and limit what medical conditions are covered. Policies that can be purchased at the worksite have more lenient underwriting and cover normal childbirth – perhaps the most important distinction for growing families.
The definition for total disability is an important definition. Total disability for worksite policies means you are unable to perform ALL of the material and substantial duties of your full-time occupation; you are unable to work at ANY job for which you are qualified by reason of education, training or experience; and you are under the regular care of a doctor.
Benefit totals are determined by the policy features chosen at time of application. The monthly benefit amount can reach as high as 66% of monthly gross income, capped at $6,500 per month. The elimination period describes how quickly payments are made. The payment duration describes how long payments are made if continuously disabled.
Request a short term disability quote to determine how these features impact monthly premium totals.
Short Term Disability Benefits
Many women in Kansas who are planning to start a family are expecting to take one or more unpaid parental leaves from work. Some know this in advance, and plan accordingly by banking sick days, or putting money into savings. Others learn the hard way that parental leave is most often unpaid. If a couple is stretching to make end meet before childbirth, wait until one income is lost.
Short term disability for maternity leave solves this problem. The maternity leave benefit makes the policy self-funding over three years, and may cover other medical events that prevent you from working. Forward thinking women purchase short term disability insurance prior to starting her family.
When normal childbirth occurs nine months or more after the policy effective date she receives cash payments to support her income while she recovers from childbirth. There is a six week payment for vaginal birth, and an eight week payment for c-section delivery. Quite often these payments are more than what she pays in premium over three years.
Pregnancy Bed Rest
Almost a third of women will experience complications while pregnant and/or after giving birth which translates into unplanned time away from the job. Again, if a couple has thin financial margins or took on debt before getting pregnant the lost income is a big problem. Illnesses and accidents can strike at any time and cause a disruption in your paycheck.
Starting a policy too late is the number one benefit killer. Disabilities resulting from any preexisting condition will be covered only when they begin 12 months after the policy effective date. For any family considering a policy to cover childbirth, the most important step is to begin coverage prior to conception.
Related Kansas Laws Regarding Disability
Kansas laws do not require state short term disability insurance. Employers do not have to provide the benefit. Employees are not required to be automatically enrolled. Each individual must take positive action.
The only state based program in Kansas does not cover temporary disabilities. The only benefits available are for permanent conditions: those lasting one year or more, or expected to result in death. This program is administered by the KS Department of Social and Rehabilitative Services. This department administers Social Security Disability benefits.
Federal maternity leave laws regulate what happens in the Kansas workplace. There are no state specific laws. See how the laws may protect your job, and access to insurance and other benefits.
State government employees in Kansas have two sets of entitlements. Accumulated sick days can be used for an employee’s disability, childbirth, miscarriage, abortion, adoption of a child, and placement of a child in a foster home. Leave without pay is available for up to six months for similar circumstances.