The State of Rhode Island Temporary Disability Insurance program (Rhode Island TDI) provides needed income replacement benefits for certain workers. Not every single resident automatically is enrolled in the program or eligible to apply for benefits when unable to work. Benefit amounts are limited.
Find answers to common questions, access to more complete information, and an opportunity to expand upon what the state already offers. Learn how RI temporary disability insurance works.
- How much do I get?
- How do I apply for benefits?
- How long does it last?
- Does it cover maternity leave?
- Do I qualify for benefits?
RI Temporary Disability Amounts
RI Temporary Disability Insurance is a state mandated program that applies to private workers. Rhode Island TDI provides payments for off the job accidents and illnesses. The state workers compensation program is designed for on the job accidents.
How much does TDI Pay?
It is challenging to determine exactly how much Rhode Island TDI pays. There is a complex formula that yields a different answer for every applicant. The most succinct summary of the formula is that your weekly rate will be equal to 4.62% of the wages paid to you in the highest quarter of your Base Period. Your weekly rate remains the same throughout your benefit year.
Effective 7/1/10, $69.00 is the minimum and $700 is the maximum payment rate for claims with the benefit year begin date of 7/4/10 or greater. The weekly maximum can be extended as high as $945 per week if you have five dependents. The RI law allows for an incremental $10 or 7% weekly for each qualified dependent.
You are subject to the weekly cap of $700 if you have no dependents and your income exceeds approximately $60,000 per year. You are subject to the $945 cap if your income exceeds about $82,000 per year.
Taxation of Benefits
The average level of income support is approximately 60% of your normal gross earnings. The payments are not taxable, so the amount of money you have left after taxes may remain about the same: provided you are not subject to the weekly cap.
How Long Does TDI Last?
Rhode Island TDI becomes payable after your disability exceeds a one week waiting period. This waiting week also becomes payable if you receive payments for all or some part of the three week immediately following the waiting week. The maximum benefit duration is 30 weeks.
A private temporary disability plan can increase your benefit amount and payment duration. The benefit calculation promises to be far simpler.
Does it Cover Maternity Leave?
Temporary disability in RI covers your pregnancy and maternity leave. Other states publish specific guidelines for length of disability due to normal pregnancy. Rhode Island laws simply states that the program will cover your loss of income due to pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage, and abortion. You will be entitled to the same payments as any other covered sickness.
Your covered sickness may be payable for a longer period if your doctor certifies that you have a specific complication related to the pregnancy; you have a Caesarean section; or you have another simultaneous disability. Your qualified healthcare provider will need to make a determination on the length of your unemployment due to pregnancy. A midwife is listed as a qualified provider.
Length of Pregnancy Bed Rest
What is most important to understand is that the temporary plan leaves several gaps for pregnant women. First the payments stop after 30 weeks. A normal pregnancy spans 280 days or 40 weeks. Add 6 to 8 weeks to recover after childbirth. A high risk pregnancy may require bed rest during your first trimester. Your income support may stop before you a capable of working again. Second, the program provides only partial income support.
Purchase private short term disability for maternity to extend your payment period, and increase your level of maternity pay.
Rhode Island TDI Eligibility Requirements
Rhode Island TDI eligibility requirements allow coverage for private workers only. Residency in the state does not automatically qualify you for the program – an important distinction that many people discover only after they become unable to earn an income.
Many residents are not covered. Those not covered include but are not limited to:
- Federal government workers
- State, County, and Municipal employees are not required to participate. Some local government employer groups choose to participate voluntarily. Check with your employer.
- Commuters to Boston have no coverage at all. There is no mandatory MA program.
Applying for Rhode Island TDI Benefits
There are two avenues available when applying for Rhode Island TDI benefits: completing a paper application, or filing via an internet claims system.
Benefits Application Form
Whether completing a paper application form or using the internet system there is some basic information needed: personal and work information, medical information, claims history, employer information, and your dependents allowance. The number of dependents helps determine your maximum benefit amount.
Internet Claims System
Rhode Island TDI claims can be submitted using traditional paper-based claims forms, or you can utilize the more modern internet claims system. If you have specific questions about your claim, you can contact the Rhode Island Customer Service Information Center at: (401) 462-8420.
There are several required sets of information you will need to file your claim:
- Social security number
- Contact information for all qualified healthcare providers
- Contact information for all employers over the last 24 months
- Direct deposit information
Image credit: kbuntu / 123RF Stock Photo