North Carolina parents with children frequently turn to short-term disability insurance when taking time away from work. Unfortunately, the state does not offer a program to workers in private industry.

New policies exclude pre-existing health conditions. Find options for assistance if you arrived too late. Request a quote if the timing is right.

 

Some state-based programs for financial assistance treat select groups differently.

North Carolina parental leave laws allow mothers and fathers to enjoy 12 weeks of unpaid time off for people in the private sector – if they qualify for FMLA, which many do not.

Meanwhile, many taxpayer-supported state government workers get 8 weeks off at full salary so they can bond with their newborn baby with no worries.