Oregon short-term disability insurance plans provide vital coverage for growing families. Just as costs shoot up when you bring home the precious bundle of joy, mom loses her income. Ask yourself, can I pay my bills with 36 weeks of lost income?
Oregon family leave laws provide for job protection in the event that mom experiences a bed rest disability, and then her child requires care at home for sick leave. A policy can make this unpaid leave more affordable. Learn how short-term disability in Oregon works.
- Applications and forms
- Pregnancy and maternity leave
- Oregon Disability Laws
Disability Application and Forms
There are two types of important forms for short-term disability in Oregon: claim forms to apply for benefits, and applications to purchase a policy. You may not have completed a policy application in time. The state does not offer a public program, and policies exclude preexisting conditions.
Apply for a short-term loan if you do not qualify to receive benefits.
Make certain you have a second source of income to help repay your loan. Join an elite group of moms that have discovered new found freedom and wealth with an honest, ethical home business. Click Here
Speak to a licensed insurance agent experienced with short-term disability in order to complete your application to purchase a policy. Most people purchase policies at work, when their employer offers the policies. The agent will ask a series of medical questions, and will need to verify income with your employer. The application will be submitted to the carrier for policy approval.
Applying for Benefits
Applying for disability benefits requires you to complete a claims form. The claims form needs to be signed by your doctor stating the medical reason you are unable to work. The claims form also must be signed by your employer to verify you are no longer working. Send the signed claims form to your insurance carrier for claims payment.
OR Short-Term Disability Insurance
The Oregon Trail provided a path to wealth and prosperity for many settlers, but came with perils as well. Likewise, growing families in The Beaver State are following a different trail full of perils. Starting or adding to your family adds extra costs into the equation. It may be a bigger house, and extra car, or just additional medical expenses to cover prenatal care and the hospital bill when mom delivers her baby. Oregon does not offer a state program. A loss of income can be devastating.
Individual short-term disability is an ideal way to protect your paycheck and prosperity in case of an accident or sickness. Oregon short-term disability insurance may replace up to 6/10 of your gross earnings. The monthly benefit maximum is $6,500, so anyone earning one hundred thirty thousand dollars a year or less will be eligible for the highest level of income support.
Twenty five percent of pregnancies will experience one or more complications. Many women undergoing infertility treatments, those older in age, and those conceiving multiples often experience a high-risk pregnancy. Your gynecologist may require you to stop working months before your due date.
Use short-term disability for pregnancy to support your income while on leave. Your doctor needs to certify the medical reason behind your absence from work.
Oregon maternity laws allow for up to 36 weeks of unpaid job protected leave: before delivery, while recovering from childbirth, and caring for your infant. Having income coming in while away from the job is a great stress reliever, and allows you to focus on your own health, and viability of your newborn.
In Oregon, only short-term disability sold at your work site will cover normal childbirth, helping you generate maternity leave pay.
These policies pay benefits for eight weeks for a C-section, and six weeks for a vaginal delivery. If you took leave prior to delivery, you may have already satisfied your elimination period. You will not be able to find a policy covering normal pregnancy sold directly to individuals, so you will have a choice to make: do I want better benefits, or convenience?
Oregon Disability Insurance Laws
Oregon does not have laws mandating state short-term disability benefits for off the job injuries and illnesses. Policies are offered to state government employees, and private employers often provide an option at work.
State Temporary Disability
Oregon state law requires that employers provide temporary disability benefits for on the job accidents only. Workers shall receive two-thirds income replacement during any period of total temporary disability when injured at work.
Most injuries occur off the job and are not covered by the Oregon state temporary disability program. Illnesses usually occur off the job and are not covered.
Family Leave Laws
Oregon Family Leave laws do not allow for income replacement during an employee’s own disability. Options are available for workers who must care for a sick family member. The laws also provide extended job protections for disabled employees.
Oregon State Employees
Oregon state employees are offered the option to purchase short-term disability. Benefits replace up to two thirds of income, capped at $1,662 per week. Payments last up to 4 weeks for a preexisting condition, and 13 weeks otherwise.
If you want coverage for normal pregnancy, we can help get things set up at your employer. We maintain a network of agents located near many major cities who are happy to travel to your office location.
Areas served include Albany, Ashland, Beaverton, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Grants Pass, Gresham, Hillsboro, Keizer, Klamath Falls, Lake Oswego, McMinnville, Medford, Milwaukie, Newberg, Oregon City, Portland, Roseburg, Salem, Springfield, Tigard, Tualatin, West Linn, and Woodburn.