Utah short term disability benefits are an important income security option for growing families. Young families may face financial pressure paying everyday bills. Then extra expenses associated with a medical event are added to the mix. This happens most frequently to couples having children.
Make sure you protect your income to help with these extra expenses. Most employers do not provide paid leave. Learn how short term disability insurance works in Utah.
- How benefits work for maternity leave
- Applications and claims forms
- Related Utah laws
Utah Short-Term Disability Benefits
Utah does not have a state-based program. You must purchase a private policy before becoming sick, hurt, or pregnant in order to protect your income.
A private policy works by replacing a portion of income for disabilities that result from a covered accident or sickness. Certain limitations and exclusions apply. Complete the appropriate application forms in the correct order.
In Utah, three important short-term disability forms may need to be completed. Many times, you must complete them in sequence: account forms, application forms, and then claims forms. Unfortunately, many are unaware of the rules, and attempt to reverse the sequence. Therefore, we present the options in the order most people expect.
Complete a claims form to apply for benefits after you are unable to work due to a covered medical condition. You must have a private policy in force in order to qualify. Since the State of Utah does not offer a public program covering temporary medical conditions, many site visitors have few options.
Debt relief application if you owe more than $10,000 in unsecured obligations. Lost income combined with extra medical bills often leads to financial hardship. You could qualify to participate in a settlement program.
Apply for a short-term loan to obtain the emergency funding you need if you do not have private coverage already in force. Repay the note in monthly installments.
Apply for disability benefits by the filing of a claims form if you already own a private policy. Download the form from the issuing company’s website. Follow instructions carefully.
Policy Application Forms
Application forms are required to put a policy into effect. A licensed agent will record answers to medical questions and submit the application form to the company for underwriting review. A new policy will not cover a pre-existing health condition.
Begin by requesting an online quote to estimate the monthly premiums for a sample configuration. Men and women past childbearing age can conveniently obtain what they need without involving their employer. Ladies planning to have children fare better by purchasing through work – if her employer offers a voluntary option.
You may need an account form if you desire coverage for normal childbirth. This type of policy is most in demand, as it makes payments for a medical event many people plan. These policies are only available as worksite employee paid benefits programs. If an employer does not already offer the option, this is step one.
The most important exclusion relates to preexisting conditions. A preexisting condition is any physical condition for which you were treated, received medical advice, or were prescribed medications for in the 12 months prior to the policy effective date.
Most policies will cover pre-existing conditions not otherwise excluded if the disability begins 12 months after the policy effective date. This exclusion comes into play most often with women seeking coverage once already pregnant. The average gestation period for a pregnancy falls well short of the exclusion period.
Three policy definitions are useful to know when understanding how short-term disability works. The monthly benefits amount is available up to 66% of monthly gross earning, up to a limit of $6,500. The elimination period means the period of time when no benefits are payable. The payment duration defines how long payments are made when continuously disabled.
The monthly benefits amount, elimination period, and payment duration are determined at the time of application. Each element affects the monthly premium for the policy. Higher benefits amounts, shorter elimination periods, and longer payment durations increase premium costs.
Utah Short-Term Disability for Pregnancy
Short-term disability for pregnancy is a very popular choice among working-women in Utah because of the state’s very high birth rate. Women can purchase a policy that replaces income during a pregnancy bed rest while on maternity leave, and in case postpartum disorders delay your return to work.
Pregnancy Bed Rest
Pregnancy disability leave is quite common. Twenty-five percent of pregnancies result in complications. Many times, a doctor will order you to take bed rest prior to your delivery. The bed rest might last a week, a month, a trimester, or two trimesters. One never knows. However, you can be prepared.
Your policy may support your earnings during the time you are unable to work while on bed rest. Your gynecologist would need to provide documentation for the medical reasons behind the bed rest prescription.
Short-term disability for maternity leave is vital coverage for any growing family in Utah. Maternity health plans leave gaping holes for any couple buying coverage as an individual. This leaves many with Bryce Canyon sized chasms to fill – before losing mom’s income while she recovers from childbirth.
This one-two punch does not have to happen. Couples should be able to enjoy bringing a new child into the world without rushing back to work just to stay current on the mortgage and car payment. A temporary policy will make a cash payment of six weeks for a vaginal birth, and eight weeks for a C-section delivery when normal childbirth occurs nine months or more after the policy start date.
This means you can time the start date of your policy in advance of conception. Many couples are trying to conceive and may be able to predict this date with some accuracy. The cash payment for normal delivery is several multiples of a year’s premiums, so the contract works to the advantage of couples with foresight.
Utah Short-Term Disability Laws
Utah does not have any laws requiring state short-term disability benefits. People concerned about temporary disabilities should purchase a private policy. Utah does not have any state specific laws providing job protections beyond the federal regulations pertaining to employees across the country.
If you are permanently impaired, you should contact the Disability Determination Department, which administers Social Security. The office contact information is below:
P.O. Box 144032
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4032
Professional Relations Officer
Unemployment compensation can be used for income replacement during a period of disability only under very narrow sets of circumstances. Sometimes the very laws that protect your job prevent you from collecting these benefits.
If you become disabled during a period of unemployment, short-term disability in Utah will make payments if you are confined at home, you are unable to perform two or more activities of daily living, and are under the regular care of a doctor.
State employees in Utah have several options. Sick leave is earned at the rate of four hours per pay period and can accumulate without limit. Sick pay can be used for maternity, and disability of the employee, a spouse, and a child. This means that both maternal and paternal paid leave is possible.
Utah state workers may be granted up to six months of unpaid leave for their own impairment – unless your condition is deemed permanent. Employees are responsible for paying 102% of the health insurance premiums during the leave. It may also be possible to negotiate a leave of absence without pay. This leave may last up to six months.
- State workers – Utah Administrative Code R477
- Social Security – UT Disability Determinations
- Image credit: paolag / 123RF Stock Photo